Dixie Boys Baseball Hall of Fame



Office of the Commissioner
Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc.
J. Sandy Jones - <u>jjones29@sw.rr.com</u>
Press Release: December 14, 2012

The Board of Directors voted in September 2011 to create a Hall of Fame to honor those that have served the Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc. organization in an exemplary manner. Dixie Boys Baseball is now pleased to announce (found below) the latest inductees to the Hall of Fame.

It was determined from the inception that the recognition would be broad-based. To accomplish the various task of developing the Hall of Fame a task force was created by the Commissioner. Serving on the Hall of Fame Task Force are: Dick Primeaux, Ted Jones, Larry Lankford, Miles Mitchell, Billy Herrin, and Tommy Hailey. Serving as ex-officio members are Ronnie Jackson, Dixie Executive Board Chairman and J. Sandy Jones, Commissioner.

It was decided by the committee (beginning with the 2013 year) that in order to be eligible for consideration: an individual, sponsor, league, community, umpire, etc. will include a requirement that a nomination form be submitted on their behalf. Nomination forms will be available from the website at www.dixie.org/boys or from any Board member. All submitted nominations will be evaluated based on criteria established by the Hall of Fame Committee.

It is the goal of the committee to have the nomination form published by January 15, 2013. The date will allow the Dixie Boys/Majors State Directors and others ample time to nominate those deserving of Hall of Fame recognition. To be considered for the 2013 Hall of Fame Class all paperwork must be submitted to the Commissioner by April 1, 2013. The Hall of Fame Task Force will evaluate all forms and then provide the Board of Directors with a slate of nominees for consideration. The Board of Directors of Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc. will make the final determination as to the inductees. All nominations should be submitted to:

J. Sandy Jones, Commissioner/CEO
Dixie Boys Baseball – Hall of Fame Committee
Post Office Box 8263
Dothan, Alabama 36304

The Board in 2011 approved an individual deserving of immediate recognition as a Hall of Fame Member. As such the Class of 2011 included only one member: W.E. "Bubba" Brasher. Mr. Brasher, Founder of Dixie Boys Baseball was recognized at a special ceremony held on November 10, 2011 in Alexandria, Louisiana. Dixie Boys Baseball was incorporated in 1957 by members of the Alexandria Youth Baseball program. It was the desire of Mr. Brasher and twenty- one others to create a baseball program for youth age 13 and above.

The Hall of Fame Task Force in concurrence with the Board of Directors of Dixie Boys Baseball recently named the Class of 2012. This class is comprised of those that have achieved the status of "Life Members" with the Dixie Boys Baseball organization. Fourteen individuals are now included as the newest Hall of Fame inductees. The inclusion of each member to the Hall of Fame is based on their many outstanding contributions and dedicated volunteer service to the organization. During the 2013 baseball season appropriate recognition will be made for all of the individual class members as named. In the matter of those individuals that are deceased it is the desire of the HOF committee to have a special remembrance ceremony with their family. The following are officially named as 2012 inductees:

2012 Hall of Fame Class

Jimmy Brown	Martin, Georgia	Former Commissioner of Dixie Boys/Majors Baseball
Talmadge Bowen	Thorsby, Alabama	Former State Director- Alabama Dixie Boys Baseball
Warren Rayburn	Laurel, Mississippi	Former National Umpire-in-Chief
Jerry Melton	West Monroe, Louisiana	Former President of Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc.
Ted Jones	North Charleston, SC	Former President of Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc.
Andy Dooley	Thaxton, Virginia	Former Vice- President of Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc.
Charles Melton	Mt. Pleasant, Texas	Deputy Commissioner – Dixie Majors Baseball
James McKay	West Monroe, Louisiana	Former State Director- Louisiana Dixie Majors Baseball (deceased)
Mason "Gene" Ford	West Monroe, Louisiana	Former National Board Member- Georgia Dixie Baseball (deceased)
Algie Green	Lumberton, Mississippi	Former President of Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc. (deceased)
Keith Brewer	Ball, Louisiana	Former Dixie Boys Baseball Secretary-Treasurer (deceased)
Bill Wooten	Laurel, Mississippi	Former Mississippi Dixie Majors National Board Member (deceased)
Bill Moore	Guntersville, Alabama	Former Alabama Dixie Majors National Board Member (deceased)
Bernie Varnadore	North Charleston, SC	Former National Scholarship Chairman- SC Board (deceased)

J. Sandy Jones, Commissioner/CEO commented, "I want to commend the Board of Directors for their support of the Hall of Fame and the related task force. Dixie Boys Baseball is blessed to have outstanding volunteer leadership found in the local leagues, state organizations and with the Executive Board. Many of the real unsung heroes of this program never receive the recognition that they truly deserve. With a history dating back to 1957, we have certainly had many outstanding contributions on behalf of the program."

The Commissioner further stated, "We rightfully honored Mr. Bubba Brasher as the sole member of the Class of 2011. It is also very evident that many others shared his vision and all were inspired by a common goal of service to youth through Dixie Boys Baseball, Inc. In recognizing the Class of 2012 we have the opportunity to recognize fourteen very deserving "Life Members" that have carried the torch for the organization. Personally, I consider it as an honor and pleasure to have served at one time with each of the 2012 inductees. "

More information related to the Hall of Fame will be made available during the 2013 season.